A new adventure awaits

by José Antonio Rey

This September 15th, my Ubuntu Membership will turn six years old. I’ve been with the community for a long time now (not as long as others!), and I’ve learned a lot along the way. So far, I have only done volunteer work, and, a couple months ago, I decided I needed to take the next step. Now that I’m 20, I need to find a real job.

After searching for a while, the hunt ended up being fruitful. As of September 1st, I will start working with Hiperderecho, a Peruvian NGO. In short, Hiperderecho loves that everyone can enjoy the Internet freely, and promotes and defends digital rights and freedoms. I will be joining them as their Director of Community, and can’t be more happy that an opportunity such as this one has popped up.

No, I won’t stop studying (yes, I’m still in school). No, I won’t stop contributing to the Ubuntu community. In fact, I will be at SeaGL, giving a talk about how worldwide communities interact with each other, as well as helping run the Ubuntu booth. If you’re in the area, come by and say hi!

And that’s all from me now. I’m sure this will be an opportunity for learning and growing both personally and professionally, and can’t wait to start!

