UbuConLA 2015: The other side of things. Day 2.

by José Antonio Rey

“We’ll be back in just a few moments.”

I’m now back home from UbuConLA 2015. I am not sure of how much you enjoyed it, but for me it was such a great time. I still think it was so unreal, having people visit where I usually study and work a bit, to talk about different stuff Ubuntu.

At 10am walkie talkies fired off again, and with the AV team (ran by the ITLab at University of Lima, thanks! <3) we started the livestreams at Ubuntu on Air!. First we had Sergio Schvezov, who came directly from Argentina to talk about Snappy. He did some live demos! After that, we had Luis Michael Ibarra, who talked about a bit about LXC and LXD. Since they are a bit complicated, it takes some time to explain and he missed a bit. But I'm sure he can do a blog post (maybe guest here!) explaining some more about it. Then, Sebastián Ferrari, a fellow who talked about Juju, also did some live demos, and got everyone ready for the group photo!

We took a group picture (yes, it's going to be uploaded soon). I was following Sciri's role and actually taking it, but someone offered to take it and everyone insisted, so I joined the pic. I believe it's really nice, and I hope it goes around the world! After the pic we headed right to the cafeteria, where we had some salad, ají de gallina and gelatin. I think they really enjoyed it, since some people had asked for extra!

Then, we moved to the evening talks. Since we started late in the morning we had to cancel the Lightning Talks. Logistic reasons, things you have to decide on the act when you're organizing this kind of things. I had been really excited to see those, but well. All happens for a reason. So, Neyder Achahuanco, who came directly from Puno, where Lake Titicaca is located, gave a great talk about education and how you can teach computer science on schools. He also demoed some tools. Then came Pedro Muñoz, who arrived in time just for his talk. He had been running around city all day, but he managed to speak at UbuConLA! He talked about data analysis and tools he uses in his day to day. Finally, Alex Aragón closed the conference with a talk about getting started with Blender and 3D animations and models. Interesting, right? He showed some cool videos too.

Was that it? Nopes! We had a small raffle, with tshirts, baseball caps, beanies and two copies of the Official Ubuntu Book, 8e, which I helped in writing! It took some time, but people really enjoyed some relaxing bit after the conference. Oh! And I was missing the break. We had a small break between Pedro and Alex, and I unloaded everything I had (CDs, DVDs, stickers, pens, pins, moar stickers! We also have free bottled water, want some?). I had been arranging that while Pedro was talking since we had a small table on the outside. I announced the small break, and opened the doors. Checked the next speaker was in line, and all of that should've taken around 1 or 1.5 minutes. I left the auditorium to check the table, all stickers, pens and pins were gone, just a few DVDs were left. I have absolutely no idea what happened there! Anyways, looks like people loved the swagz.

After the conference, the crew helped me to quickly tear down everything, and off we went to eat/drink something. We went to Jockey Plaza, and had decided to go to Chili's. However, the place was kinda full, there was no host. And then, a huge group of children arrived. What to do? Go to TGI Fridays, which also had a huge group of kids, but managed to accommodate the 18 people request with no problem. We had a couple drinks, chatted a bit, Sergio got picked up to go to the airport (he should be about to fly!), and then everyone went their way. I'm now back home, resting a bit. You should see me now, I'm extremely happy of how things went and that we had no major problems.

Fun fact. In the morning, JuanJo Ciarlante helped me fix a local mirror (yep, we had a mirror for the archive and releases). We found a bug! I'm gonna report it as soon as I can, for sure. Oh, and I figured out I had been working with Pablo Rubianes for around 5 years, even before the LoCo Council (at the now deprecated Ubuntu Beginners Team!).

You may have noticed I opened both of my blog posts about the conference with a little quote. If you had been watching the livestream or were at the conference, you may also have noticed these are little queues or phrases I used to open/close a session/livestream. So, yes. We will be back in just a little while. I hope to see everyone again soon. I definitely won't be able to wait another 5 years to meet someone.

Thanks. Thanks to everyone who helped organize the event. I couldn't have done it without you. Thanks to everyone who attended and/or watched the livestream. You all, the Ubuntu community, are the reason why I organized the event, as well as the reason why I'm still around. Since I joined you've been like a second family, welcomed me with open arms, and now here we are. Please, keep being awesome.