How UbuConLA 2015 evolved in the past months

by José Antonio Rey

Wow, what can I say. To be honest, I am really impressed on how UbuConLA is shaping. So far there’s been a lot of stuff going through my head since I just finished finals, but now that I have a clear view of the entire panorama I really like how this conference is turning out to be.

In the past I’ve staffed booths and given talks in conferences, as well as organized small-ish events. However, this is my first big conference, and you can’t just imagine the excitement smile I have on my face when I see things are running as expected. It’s been some rough past months trying to balance conference planning with booth planning at TXLF, as well as studies and some other communities I contribute to. However, it’s been such an amazing experience.

Several months ago I was in the middle of a dillema, since the venue we were thinking of changed some requirements. Fortunately, my university, University of Lima, has been extremely helpful. I cannot thank enough all the people I have met on the way and who have given me such a big help whenever things were starting to turn in the wrong direction, and all we have accomplished so far.

In the past couple days I have received the name badges and banners we will be using for the conference, and even though there’s still some stuff in the way I can’t be more excited about how things are starting to look. Last week everything was just in ideas, and we’re starting to see the digital come into a physical object. That, for me, is one of the most exciting parts.

Luckily (and at the same time unfortunately) we had to close the registration form yesterday. The auditorium that was given to us has a capacity of 233 people, and counting volunteers, speakers, staff and more reduces that a bit. How many people have registered so far, you ask? Three. Hundred. That means we’re gonna fill that auditorium! A full room, what more can we ask for. If you haven’t registered for the conference, do not fear. The registration is just a fast track and it’s first-come, first-served. So make sure to keep an eye on all the social media pages for information on how to attend.

The next couple weeks are going to be the most difficult ones. We have a public holiday coming up until Thursday here in Peru, and from then on we need to start the final preparations. This is looking so good, I hope you all are surprised when you come to the conference.

After going through some of the process of organizing a medium-sized conference I can now really appreciate all the effort it takes to organize a big, and even a medium-sized conference. If you go to a conference and see the chairs or organizers, make sure to give them a pat on the back and thank them for all the efforts. They’re the people we need to thank for keeping the human touch and interaction alive!

And I think that’s all. Hope to see you in August, can’t wait for UbuConLA to happen!