Community Appreciation Day

by José Antonio Rey

And again, I don’t know how to start a blog post. I believe that one of my weak points is that I don’t know how to start redacting stuff. But meh, we’re here because it’s the Ubuntu Community Appreciation Day. And here am I, part of this huge community for more than three years. It’s been an awesome experience ever since I joined. And I am grateful to a whole bunch of people.

I know it may sound like a cliché, but seriously, listing all the people who I have met and contributed with in the community would be basically impossible for me. It would be a never-ending list! All I can say right now is that I am so, so thankful for crossing paths with so many of them. From developers, translators, designers and more, the Ubuntu community is such a diverse one, with people united by one thing: Ubuntu.

When I joined the community I was a kind-of disoriented 14-year old guy. As time passed, the community has helped me develop skills from improving my English (Spanish is my native language for those who didn’t know) to starting me in programming (thing that I didn’t know about a couple years ago!). And I’ve formed great friendships around.

Again, all I can say is I am forever grateful to all those people who I have worked with, and to those who I haven’t too. We are working on what’s the future of open computing, and all of this wouldn’t be possible without you. Whether you have contributed in the past are or still contributing to the community, rest assured that you have helped build this huge community.

Thank you. Sincerely, thank you.