Juju’ing with t1.micro instances on AWS

by José Antonio Rey

Since February, when I decided I didn’t want to use the local provider with Juju because my internet connection has a download speed of 400KBps, I opened an AWS account. This gave me 750 hours per month to use on t1.micro instances, which are awesome for Juju testing… until you hit some problems.

Main problem with the t1.micro instances is that they only have 613MB RAM. This is good for testing charms which do not require a lot of memory, but there are some (as nova-cloud-controller) which do require some more memory to run properly. Even worst, they require memory to finish installing.

I should note that, in general, my experience with t1.micro instances and the AWS free tier has been awesome, but in this cases there is no other solution than getting a bigger instance. If you are testing in cloud and you see a weird error you don’t understand, it may be that the machine has ran out of memory to allocate, so try in a bigger instance. If it doesn’t solve it, go ahead and report a bug. If it’s something on a charm’s code, we’ll look into it.

Happy deploying!

