ownCloud Charm Updated!

by José Antonio Rey

A couple days ago, Canonical announced that the Ubuntu One File and Music Services were being shut down. I was checking some of the alternatives that were presented for migrating files, and found ownCloud as one of them. I had never used it, but knew a Juju Charm was in the Charm Store. So, as I’m still enjoying the benefits of Amazon EC2’s free tier, I decided to give it a shot and see how it was.

Once the service was deployed, I checked everything was running good, but noticed the version was not the latest. I decided to go ahead and fix it, but in the road, while working with Charles Butler, I found several problems, including a broken upgrade-charm hook, and some bugs on ownCloud’s side. But everything seems to be running good now, and you should be able to do a new ownCloud deployment or upgrade your current one to the newest version without any errors!

Be aware that we are working on several other bugs for this charm, including the version lock we currently have. Make sure to report any other bugs you find on the Launchpad project, and we’ll take a look at it. Now, go and play with ownCloud!

